Homes in Louisiana Now Require a Smoke Detector with a 10 Year Lithium Battery!

If you are in the State of Louisiana and selling  a Louisiana residential property you are required to have a smoke detector in the home with a ten year lithium battery! This  new law went into effect January 1, 2011 and is also a question found on the new Louisiana 2011 Property  Condition Disclosures that are to be filled out by homeowners when listing a property for sale.

There are no penalties or fines if the Seller fails to comply with this law nor can it stop a real estate closing from taking place if there isn’t a smoke detector with a 10 year lithium battery in the home. REALTORS  SHALL NOT be held liable for the Seller’s failure to comply with the law.

The cost of  a 10 Year Lithium Battery is between $12-$15.

The new law is Louisiana Act 163. You can check it our HERE!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: